USC Symphony Orchestra 2016-2017 Concert Series

The University of South Carolina’s premier orchestra ensemble, led by acclaimed music director Donald Portnoy, receives accolades for its fine performances and guest artists. World-renowned guest artists join the ensemble throughout the year to bring you a stirring seven-concert season with music by the most dynamic composers.

Season subscriptions
Save with a season subscription (7 concerts) and enjoy the best seats in the house: $150
Discounts: $110 seniors, USC faculty and staff; $45 students.

Season Subscriptions may be purchased at the Koger Center box office located at 806 Park Street or by phone at (803) 251-2222, M-F, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue., Sept. 13, 2016
The Russian Romantics
Marina Lomazov, piano
The first concert of the new season features Marina Lomazov on Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor. Praised by critics as “a diva of the piano” (The Salt Lake City Tribune), “a mesmerizing risk-taker” (The Plain Dealer, Cleveland), and “simply spectacular” (Chicago International Music Foundation), Ukrainian-American pianist Marina Lomazov has established herself as one of the most passionate and charismatic performers on the concert scene today. Following prizes in the Cleveland International Piano Competition, William Kapell International Piano Competition, Gina Bachauer International Piano Competition, and Hilton Head International Piano Competition, Lomazov has given performances worldwide. She is the Ira McKissick Koger Professor of Fine Arts at USC and a Steinway Artist.
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) – Symphony No. 4 in F minor, op. 36
Sergei Vasilievich Rachmaninoff (1873-1943) – Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, op. 18

Tue., Oct. 18, 2016
John Williams Blockbusters!
Clifford Leaman, saxophone
Back by popular demand, the USC Symphony Orchestra performs more Signature Editions of legendary American composer John Williams. Experience award-winning music from The Adventures of Indiana Jones, Indiana Jones and Raiders of the Lost Ark, Jaws, “Hymn to the Fallen” from Saving Private Ryan, Harry Potter and Chamber of Secrets, Memoirs of a Geisha, and Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Clifford Leaman, professor of saxophone at USC,  joins the orchestra on “Escapades” for alto saxophone and orchestra from Catch Me If You Can. American Record Guide wrote, “Leaman reveals himself to be an artist of technical brilliance and emotional commitment.”

Tue., Nov. 15, 2016
Hanson and Shostakovich
Sandy Cameron, violin
Declared “brilliant” by the Washington Post and “a shameless showstopper” by the New York Times, virtuoso violinist Sandy Cameron joins the orchestra on Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto in A minor. Broadway World declared “Sandy Cameron was a real showstopper…dancing, bobbing, prowling, weaving, and playing up a storm…”
Howard Hanson (1896-1981)- Symphony No. 1 in E minor, op. 21 (Nordic)
Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975) - Violin Concerto in A minor, op. 77

Thur., Jan. 19, 2017
Maestro Portnoy and Friends
Donald Portnoy
Join guest soloists and friends of Maestro Donald Portnoy as they celebrate the Maestro’s years of conducting and music making. Artists and repertoire to be announced.


Tue., Feb. 21, 2017
Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody
Joyce Yang, piano
This concert presents music from Copland to Mozart to Rachmaninoff and is sure to shake off the February chill. Special guest Joyce Yang, a Van Cliburn International Piano Competition silver medalist and Avery Fisher Career Grant recipient, showcases her colorful musical personality in solo recitals and collaborations with the world’s top orchestras. Praised for “poetic and sensitive pianism” (Washington Post) and a “wondrous sense of color” (San Francisco Classical Voice), Yang captivates audiences with her virtuosity, lyricism and interpretive prowess.
Aaron Copland (1900-1990) - El Salon Mexico
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) - Symphony No. 35 in D Major, K. 385 (Haffner)
Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943) - Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, op. 43

Tue., March 21, 2017
Dvořák and the Historic Cello of Pablo Casals
Amit Peled, cello
Amit Peled is professor of cello at Peabody Conservatory of Music and a highly south-after performer and pedagogue. The New York Times wrote of Peled’s “glowing tone” and “seductive timbre.” He performs on the historic cello of Pablo Casals (a Goffriller ca. 1733) for Dvořák’s Cello Concerto in B minor. Performances by winners of the USC Concert-Aria Competition also play on this concert. Performers and program to be announced.
Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904) - Cello Concerto in B minor, 104
TBA- USC Concert-Aria Competition winners

Tue., April 18, 2017
Grand Finale: The Spirit of Romanticism
Vadim Gluzman, violin
Celebrate Maestro Portnoy and the USC Symphony Orchestra’s rousing season finale, as they perform magnificent masterworks from the Romantic period. Israeli guest artist Vadim Gluzman’s performances are heard around the world through live broadcasts and a striking catalog of award-winning recordings. He plays the extraordinary 1690 ‘ex-Leopold Auer’ Stradivari and returns to USC to play Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto in D Major. wrote that Gluzman “plays the violin as if it was the thing on the earth to do. He produces a beautiful cantilena violin tone…delivers strong rhythms and virtuosity as natural components…”
Richard Wagner (1813-1883) - Prelude to Act III from Lohengrin
Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904) - Symphony No. 8 in G Major, op. 88
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) - Violin Concerto in D Major, op. 35