USC Symphony Orchestra 2017-18 Concert Series

USC Symphony Orchestra 2017–2018 Concert Series

Scott Weiss, conductor

Preceding each concert are pre-concert talks at 6:45 p.m. on the stage.

The USC Symphony is proud to announce its 2017-2018 season! Showcasing the extrordinary musical talent in the USC School of Music, 2017-2018 season includes monumental symphonies by Mahler, Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky and Beethoven, as well as beloved concerto repertoire featuring world-renowned soloists from the USC faculty and beyond.

All concerts take place at 7:30 p.m. at the Koger Center for the Arts unless otherwise noted.

Join us for what promises to be a glorious season of orchestral music in the Koger Center for the Arts!

Purchase Season Subscriptions

Save with season subscriptions (6 concerts) and enjoy the best seats in the house: $150.

Discounts: $110. senior citizen/military.USC faculty and staff; $45. students. Discount tickets must be purchased in person at the Koger Center Box Office.

Call 803-251-2222 or purchase in person at the Koger Center Box Office, corner of Greene and Park Streets (M-F 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.)

Zuill Bailey Returns!

Thursday, September 28, 2017
Zuill Bailey, cello

MICHAEL DAUGHERTY - Tales of Hemingway     
SHOSTAKOVICH - Symphony No. 5 in D minor, op. 47

Back by popular demand, cellist Zuill Bailey returns to USC to perform the cello concerto for which he received the 2017 Grammy for Best Solo Classical Performance, Michael Daugherty’s Tales of Hemingway. This riveting new work brings to life the brilliant literature and fascinating life of writer Ernest Hemingway.


Beethoven’s “Pastoral”

Monday, October 30, 2017

Ari Streisfeld, violin
Daniel Sweaney, viola

MOZART - Sinfonia concertante in E-flat major, K. 364     
BEETHOVEN - Symphony No. 6 in F major, op. 68 “Pastoral”

With its evocations of brooks, birdsongs, and thunderstorms, Beethoven’s bucolic “Pastoral” symphony celebrates the beauty of nature and is one of the composer’s most beloved works. Mozart’s Sinfonia concertante opens the concert and showcases USC’s newest members of the string faculty, violinist Ari Streisfeld and violist Daniel Sweaney.


Famous Last Words

Monday, December 4, 2017
Phillip Bush, piano

BARTÓK - Piano Concerto No. 3 in E major
TCHAIKOVSKY - Symphony No. 6 in B minor, op. 74 “Pathétique”

Both Bartók and Tchaikovsky may very well have saved their very best for last. Completed in their final days, the two works on this program include some of the most beautiful and poignant music either composer ever wrote.



Thursday, February 1, 2018

Join Scott Weiss and the USC Symphony for a program featuring the winners of the 2017-18 USC Concerto-Aria Competition. Artists and repertoire to be announced.


Bernstein’s MASS

March 2-4, 2018 (Sunday performance at 3:00 p.m.)
Kevin Vortmann, tenor

BERNSTEIN - MASS: A Theatre Piece for Singers, Players and Dancers
A production of the University of South Carolina School of Music. 

2018 is the centenary of American composer and conductor Leonard Bernstein’s birth, and the USC School of Music marks the occasion with three performances of Bernstein’s MASS. Composed at the request of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis for the opening of the John F. Kennedy Center in 1971, MASS includes two orchestras, a rock band, a blues band, several choirs, singers, dancers, and actors. While employing some of the elements of a traditional Catholic Mass, the piece also draws upon the composer’s Broadway experience as well as other religious and popular genres. Featuring tenor Kevin Vortmann in the role of the Celebrant, this one-of-a-kind event is not to be missed! Directed by Ellen Douglas Schlaefer; conducted by Scott Weiss; musical preparation by Lynn Kompass; Alicia Walker is chorus director. 

Mahler’s “Titan”

Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Joseph Eller, clarinet

NIELSEN - Clarinet Concerto 
MAHLER - Symphony No. 1 in D major “Titan”

The USC Symphony concludes its season with Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 1, a monumental work that takes listeners from the mystic awakening of nature to an exhilarating, heart-stopping finale. The evening opens with the stormy clarinet concerto of Danish composer Carl Nielsen.

For more information: USC Symphony Orchestra



View Other Events